22 april 2003.

his face is void of expression. we hug because we're supposed to, but the only thing i know about this man or his life is that his wife is a compulsive neat freak and he enjoys bragging about his kids. he won't look me in the eye, and nods when i pay him the compliments and congradulations he wants to hear without so much as a thank you.

after he leaves and takes my cousin with him, i ask my mom if she thinks he's really happy. she grew up with him, she'd know. by her reply he seemed happier as a big brother than a corporate khaki'd wage slave. understandably so.

i think for a long time about what went wrong, when i went from having parades in the basement with my cousins to competing for who got into a more prestigious college. it makes me feel sick, and that makes two of us, because i can hear my grandmother in her bathroom vomiting up easter dinner.

< >

contemporary

classic

correspond

`

design:
Jazzminarino
Bloodredtear